Women's Caucus honors Women’s History Month with “Breaking the Glass Ceiling” Awards Ceremony

For immediate release:

SACRAMENTO – The Legislative Women's Caucus honored eleven remarkable California women who have broken barriers in their respective fields at a floor ceremony in the Assembly Chambers on Monday afternoon.

Assemblymember Cristina Garcia along with Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva had the honor of escorting Dr. Mildred Garcia, the First Latina President of CSU Fullerton.

The other notable women honored were:

  • Dr. Frances Arnold – Recipient of 2011 Nation medal of Technology and Innovation and the 2011 Charles Star Draper Prize of the US National Academy of Engineering.

  • Yvonne B. Burke – Pioneering African American female legislator.

  • Laphonza Butler – President of SEIU State Council and ULTCW.

  • Weili Dai – Co-Founder of Marvell Technology Group, an American semiconductor company and the world's leading producers of "fabless" semiconductors. She was named No. 89 on the Forbes list of “The World’s 100 Most Powerful Women” in 2012.
  • Maria Zoe Dunning – First & only LGBT to serve openly during Don’t Ask Don’t Tell.

  • Dr. Sally Rogers – Developmental psychologist and Professor of Psychiatry at UC Davis Mind Institute.

  • Jennifer Trosper – Mars Science Laboratory Mission Manager for Curiosity Rover.

  • Rosalind Wyman – Youngest person and second woman ever elected to the Los Angeles City Council.

  • Justice Kathryn Doi Todd – First Asian American woman judge in the country; Appointed by Gov. Brown to the Los Angeles Municipal Court in 1978.

  • Geena Davis – Advocate, Actor, Founder of The Geena Institute on Gender in the Media

“Dr. Garcia and the other women honored today are shining examples of what women can accomplish when they refuse to take “no” for an answer.” stated Assemblymember Garcia.

CONTACT: Tim Reardon (916) 319-2058