Skip to main content

California Latino Caucus Honors Eleven Trailblazers from Across the State at 2023 Latino Spirit Awards

For immediate release:

SACRAMENTO, CA - On Monday, May 1, 2023, the California Latino Legislative Caucus recognized Latino trailblazers at its 21st Annual Latino Spirit Awards ceremony at the State Capitol.

“Latinos make immeasurable contributions to our state and country, and we are proud to continue to celebrate the cultural pride, accomplishment, and great promise that exists in our communities,” said Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes (D-Riverside), Chair of the Latino Caucus. “Each of our 11 honorees is an agent of change who has consistently inspired, impacted, and influenced Latinos, and made our communities proud.”

“As the Latino Caucus Vice Chair, I am thrilled and deeply honored to recognize the inspiring, diverse, and highly accomplished Latino leaders receiving the 2023 Latino Spirit Awards,” said Senator Lena Gonzalez (D-Long Beach)Vice-Chair of the Latino Caucus. “Each one of them has made incredible contributions to our communities, and they continue to pave the way as pioneers in everything from athletics, entertainment, public service, human rights, the arts, and more so that future generations can follow and continue their legacy. I commend them for their incredible talents and unbending dedication to leadership and service.”

Chief Justice Patricia Guerrero, Asm Cervantes

Every year, the California Latino Legislative Caucus presents the Latino Spirit Award honor to prominent Latino Californians. Each honoree has made pioneering contributions in their respective fields, rising to become role models and community leaders.  They serve as a reminder of the talent we have within our diverse Latino community and are a source of inspiration to all Californians.

Established in 2002, The Latino Spirit Awards take place annually at the State Capitol in Sacramento to coincide with the state’s celebration of Cinco de Mayo and to recognize leading figures within our diverse Latino community.

The 2023 Latino Spirit Awards Honorees are:   ​

  • Elsa Marie Collins (Achievement in Human Rights)
  • Joel, Antonio, & Julio Diaz (Achievement in Athletics)
  • Gustavo Dudamel (Achievement in Arts & Entertainment)
  • Miguel Angel Elizondo, Jr. (Achievement in Music & Entertainment)
  • Chief Justice Patricia Guerrero (Achievement in Law & Public Service)
  • Irene Mejia Gutierrez (Achievement in Music & Entertainment)
  • Yvett Merino (Achievement in Arts & Entertainment)
  • Graciela Moreno (Achievement in Journalism & Media)
  • David Pérez Tejada Padilla (Achievement in Public Service)
  • Miguel Ruiz (Achievement in Literature)
  • Bamby Salcedo (Achievement in Human Rights)

The honorees were acknowledged on each floor of the legislature during presentations by Latino Caucus Chair Cervantes in the Assembly and Vice-Chair Gonzalez in the Senate and subsequent affirmative vote to declare May 1, 2023 - May 5, 2023, as Cinco de Mayo Week in California.

For more information and complete biographies of this year’s honorees, please visit.

Media Feed

California Latino Caucus Honors Eleven Trailblazers from Across the State at 2023 Latino Spirit Awards

Downloadable Link: is external)

The presentations can be viewed here:

Assembly -

Senate -


Since its creation in 1973, the California Latino Legislative Caucus has grown in number and stature. There are now a record 38 legislative members of the Caucus, including 35 legislators, 3 constitutional officeholders, and a historic majority of 21 Latina members. The Caucus boasts a rich history of empowerment and legislative and political success. It serves as one of the most influential and strategic organizations in California focusing primarily on improving the quality of life for California’s Latino working families.